Halloween Costume

So… I got into watching Game of Thrones this year, and I pretty much love it.  Binge-watched through Seasons 1 and 2, and improved friendships with people who had HBO to watch Season 3.   Halloween is (apparently) a big holiday here in my new home of Madison, WI, so I started thinking about it early.  And after seeing Danerys Targarean strut around in that blue dress throughout most of Season 3, I decided that would do nicely.  Not too slutty, not too cold, not too hard to make (hopefully).  In case you’re boycotting GOT for some reason, here’s a picture:

Mother of Dragons in her awesome blue dress.

Mother of Dragons in her awesome blue dress.

In searching the interwebs for a pattern, I learned there is a whole Costume making subculture.  Wow.  CostumeCon and whatnot.  Someone on a listserve there posted a sketch of the dress (and in poor form, I didn’t save her info to credit her).

image

And the costume designer for GOT posted great info on the embelishments.  I will be doing some dragonscale embroidery.  No big deal.

Leave a Reply

